Here we go again!

Welcome back. Since my Whole30 in January, I have not been very diligent in my good eating habits. Not sure why I have strayed so much when I did not do that for most of 2013. So I am not feeling as well as I know I could and I think my weight has crept up a bit. So here I am going to clean up my act again. I know that I have been letting sugars, such as 85% dark chocolate get the best of me. Early March was the boyfriend’s birthday and we decided we would have dessert, this was the first time that I had more than a bite of a dessert in over a year. Since then, that sugar dragon has been constantly nagging me. I have also been eating too many nuts and Larabars just out of boredom. Racing season is here and I need to get a grip so that I can perform my best. I will not be able to do a full 30 days because I will be traveling the last two weeks in April so I am going to do a Whole 20ish.

I raced 3 times over the weekend and knowing that I would start this today, I let Starbucks put some chocolate in my coffee. I also ate at Qdoba and had a gluten free, peanut butter chocolate, coconut bread thing that our coach cooked up. I’m sure there were things in it such as agave, that I don’t normally eat. Something I had Sunday afternoon did not sit well with me. I got a headache, my stomach felt icky and my throat kind of felt like it was closing. Later that evening I ate the remaining GF dessert thing and had the same thing happen so I’m guessing it was an ingredient in there.

So here it is Monday, my Day 1. I am not feeling so great. I had to get up and teach Body Pump this morning after a big weekend of racing. I am not really tired and have very dry eyes. Not sure if it is contributed to the lack of junk or just being tired. Could also be from some of the food that I ate yesterday.

I did not get to have my “cook day” this weekend as I would have liked because of all the activities but I did make 4 days worth of breakfast. Breakfast seems to be the hardest anyway because for lunch I always have leftovers but breakfast has to be made daily. So I made this Thanksgiving Frittata by thePaleoMom.com. It is so good.

Image

Ingredients:

  • ½ medium yellow onion (or 1 small onion), finely diced
  • 1 ½ cups red bell pepper, diced (about 1 large pepper)
  • 4 cups chopped fresh spinach
  • 6oz bacon (about 6-7 thick slices)
  • 1 cup sliced black olives(equivalent to a 3.8oz-can)
  • 8 eggs, beaten

 

  1. Heat an oven proof skillet (I like to use my 12” cast iron frying pan) over medium high heat and turn on broiler (on high) to preheat oven.
  2. Cut bacon into small pieces (I like to use scissors for this job).  Add bacon and onion to pan and cook, stirring occasionally, until the bacon is crisp and onion is fully cooked and caramlized (8-10 minutes).
  3. Add pepper and olives to pan and sauté, stirring occasionally, until pepper is cooked (4-5 minutes).  Add spinach and stir to wilt, about 1 minute.
  4. Add beaten eggs.  Let cook on stove top 1-2 minutes, stirring a couple of times.
  5. Place skillet in oven and broil until eggs are completely cooked, puffed up and starting to brown on top (about 7-10 minutes, varies oven to oven so watch carefully).
  6. Serve and enjoy!

When I made it last week, I did not put any olives in it because I couldn’t find any black olives without added ingredients. This time I used green olives. I also added mushrooms. I think there is no limitation to what you put in it. It has a sweet salty flavor and was not hard to make at all.

So I ate that for breakfast, had some bullet proof coffee and 1/2 banana. For lunch I had leftover meatsauce (from spaghetti squash dinner on Friday) The meat sauce contained veggies such as broccoli, mushrooms and peppers. I ate it over a sweet potato. The other half of my banana was eaten with lunch and a cup of Kombucha.

For dinner, I had Bison Roast, green beans with carrots and a sweet potato. I have never made Bison Roast before. It turned out really tasty.

photo (3)

 

Leave a comment