Heart Rate and Food Connection

This is going to be a long one so grab a cup of coffee, a snack, put your feet up whatever it takes to just get comfy and read on.

A Little Background Info

With all of the years being involved in fitness, working out and training I have learned to keep track of my heart rate for various reasons. My current training requires me to know my resting rate and various zones so that I know what level to train at for different workouts. I am also a big geek when it comes to fitness “technology” always have been. I keep tons of data even if I don’t know what to do about it. I just have to have it. For instance, I have an app that tells me how many hours of sleep I have had and whether it was a restful sleep or not. Of course I have food log apps (doesn’t everyone) even though I really don’t use those any more since I don’t count calories. Thank goodness because that was a chore!!!

I had been doing some reading/research regarding Heart Rate Variability (HRV) which is different that your Heart Rate. Using HRV is a way to determine if your body is recovered and/or ready for a hard workout or not. So me being one of the oldest on my team and the fact that I teach fitness classes outside of my normal workouts that the others do not. I thought this could be of some use. Our coach sends us all the same workouts and rest days, etc… not taking into account my schedule. 

I found an inexpensive app so that I could monitor this to see how it correlates to how I actually feel.  OH FUN! A NEW TOY!! This app has several components, it measures HRV, Stress Levels, HR Recovery and it has a Food component. The food component is used to tell you if you may have some food sensitivities. The premise is that when you eat food that you may be sensitive to, your HR will be higher than normal. So you keep a food log, take your HR before you eat. Tell the app when you are finished eating and then it takes your HR 30, 60 and 90 minutes after. If your HR elevates something like 16BPM you may have a sensitivity and then should start the process of elimination with your foods. This is supposed to help you find foods that may be stopping you from losing weight and causing inflammation.  I played with this in the beginning but I pretty much know my sensitivities and was not eating any of those when I tested. I really only use this for my HRV and training purposes. 

Fast Forward…..

Yesterday was the boyfriend’s birthday. His 60th. I decided that I was going to have a dessert in celebration. I have not had more than a bite of a dessert in probably a year or more. We went to dinner at one of our favorite places, The Block. It is all grass fed, pastured, local food. I had my usual Brussels Sprouts (to die for) a rib eye steak and Stella Cidre. So good! Of course I should have stopped there. 

We then went to Cyrano’s for dessert. Apparently this place is well known for it’s desserts and has made several “best” lists. I mean, if I’m going to do this I might as well get the best bang for my buck right? I don’t want to feel icky over something that isn’t good. It better be worth it. 

I got a Crack Pie, brown sugar gooey butter in a cookie crust. Boyfriend got Bread Pudding and we each had a Latte with that.

Image

 

Crack Pie

 

 

Image

 

Bread Pudding

 

 

 

Image

Latte

It was very good and by the time we got home, I was already feeling the results of eating it. My eyes were dry, I was getting a headache, my stomach was gurgling and I just felt kind of odd inside. 

After we got home, I told the BF that I should have used that app to see if it showed that I had any sensitivities. Just to test it out and see if we agreed. We sat on the couch and relaxed a bit before bedtime, I think I even dozed a little so I decided to check my heart rate, I mean after all, I know what my resting rate should be and what else did I have to do. So I checked and oh my, it was high 60’s almost 70. My resting rate in the evenings is usually in the high 40s low 50s. It never did get any lower. 

First thing this morning, I checked my HRV before getting out of bed as I always do and my resting HR was still 60. Now this is usually always in the mid 40’s in the morning. So it is still quite elevated. Of course, I am still bloated have a headache, puffy eyes and just feel a little ick. I guess there really is a correlation there. 

Yes, the desserts were good but were they worth it? I’m really not sure.

Were they as good as I remembered? Not really.

Do I miss having desserts? Not so much. 

Here’s to another year dessert free. 

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

